Chocolate Chip Brown Butter Banana Bread Muffins

2017-01-23-10-56-31Welp I’ve been slacking off here for a while, but the boredom of senioritis and being mentally done with everything in life brings me back. Also you know I would never stop making food. I actually made a loaf version of this recipe back in November, but then the election happened and…yeah let’s leave fearing for our nation’s future there. Happy thoughts. Eat good food.

Also I left the web address for this blog for a medical school interviewer, which can either up my profile as a sarcastic kitchen goddess or just come off as a very crass and bitchy college girl relieving my anxiety through food, which is both correct. So, Dr. Prives if you’re reading this you’re one of my best interviewers ever don’t hate me please thanks I’ll make you cookies if I get accepted.

2017-01-23-10-56-54

Brown butter banana bread. Say that five times fast.

Brown butter is definitely the best thing I have discovered since Asian camera filters (kudos to my homies in China for beautifying all the iPhone photography on here). Butter is so damned good because it has some cream in there that gives it its sweet flavor. Basically, to “brown” the butter, you heat up the butter up until the milk solids caramelize and turns into little brown bits. The smell is better than any $300 bottle of Tom Ford perfume. If I pass out sometime in the future, try reviving me with a waft of brown butter.

2017-01-23-10-58-27

Also, a nice thing I’ve (kind of) discovered: silicone oven mittens. Okay I didn’t discover them since they were a Christmas gift (thanks friend you know who you are). They are a lot more heat resistant than my old-fashioned cotton ones which got burned into shreds from grabbing pans that have been under the broiler. Plus no worries about handedness because they’re insulated on both sides. Definitely recommended.2017-01-23-11-01-24

Hopefully, with my medical school application process winding down (only the anxiety of waiting for decisions now hahahahahahahahaa….) and easing through the last semester of college, I will be posting more often. Nuff said, recipe now.

2017-01-23-10-58-082017-01-23-10-58-59

Chocolate Chips Brown Butter Banana Bread Muffins

Makes 12

  • 3 large or 4 small nasty ass old and squishy bananas
  • 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (or plain Greek yogurt)
  • 2 cups flour (all white or a combo of whole wheat and white is good too)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Chocolate chipssssss (Who measures these? But if you need a number probably like a cup? Don’t settle for limits in your life child. Dream big and deliciously.)

 

The ways

  1. Preheat your oven to 375F. Line a muffin tray with liners.
  2. In a saucepan over medium heat, brown the butter. Heat up the butter until it completely melts and black bits start to form at the bottom of the pan, about 3 minutes. Your kitchen will start to smell like heaven at this point. Remove from heat and lightly scrape the bottom with a rubber spatula. Set aside to cool.
  3. Smush the bananas in a bowl with a fork. The older, blacker, squishier the bananas, the easier this will be.
  4. Combine the butter, bananas, egg, vanilla extract, and sour cream (Do this in the saucepan to not wash an extra bowl)
  5. Combine all the other dry ingredients besides the chips in a bowl. Then combine the wet and dry.
  6. Fold in the chipssssssss. Like I said, I never really measure and just kind of eye it. As long as it looks like you would get a nice amount in every bite you’re good. I also usually reserve some to garnish on the top later.
  7. Divide the batter equally between the tins. Recipes usually tell you to fill the liners 3/4 full, but I like that little cute muffin top, so I do it all the way to the top. Garnish with some extra chips if you’re about that chip life (who isn’t?).
  8. Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the muffin comes out clean.

2017-01-23-10-57-34

Leave a Reply

